1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

94 3.9 Timing chain problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2018, 12:26 AM
SpiduhBMX
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 3.9 Timing chain problems

Bought my truck a bit over a year ago with 226,000 miles. I've put about 10,000 miles on it and there has been a timing chain rattle the entire time so I finally decided it was time to replace it. I'm not really a mechanic but I figured it's time to learn and didn't seem too hard to do. After hours of work I get the timing cover off and see that the camshaft timing mark is on the top and that the chain is pretty loose. I removed the old chain and put the new one on to find that the mark is still pointing up and the chain is slightly tighter but still loose. What would cause the mark being on top and is it going to affect anything? Why would a brand new "heavy duty" double roller chain be loose? The engine is at TDC with the rotor pointing at the spark plug wire for piston #1. The timing set is a Cloyes C3028x Heavy Duty Speed Set from RockAuto. Thanks.

Last edited by SpiduhBMX; 11-04-2018 at 12:34 AM.
Old 11-04-2018, 09:31 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,178 Likes on 2,931 Posts

That's acceptable.

Generally, folks want to install the gears dot to dot, just puts a different cylinder in firing position. So long as you don't move anything while the gears/chain are off, it's all good.

There was a tensioner available for the V-6 as well, but, it was for use with the morse style chain, I don't recommend them for the double roller, tends to eat the 'slider'.

Old 11-04-2018, 12:22 PM
RalphP
Champion
Received 368 Likes on 340 Posts

Dot up puts cylinder 1 on the EXHAUST TDC; dot down puts cylinder 1 on the COMPRESSION TDC.

Remember, the crank spins twice for every cam revolution.

You could have turned the motor over 1 revolution; that would bring the dots down.