Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

transmission will not shift into overdrive

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:08 PM
deerhill deerhill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2000 4x4 ram 2500 cummins and automatic
Location: southern illinois
Posts: 6
Default transmission will not shift into overdrive

Hello great truck owners,
I have a 2000 2500 4x4 with cummins motor, automatic transmission. My truck has developed a shifting problem, it does not shift to overdrive and when put in drive to take off it takes off in 3rd gear. If you put it in low and shift it up as you drive it will shift 1st, 2nd,3rd but will not go into overdrive. I have changed the goverenor solinoid and goverenor switch , but it did not change anything. I took it to a repair shop and they put it on a computor, they said all of the connections were working and it is getting a signal to shift. I failed to get any codes from them so I am going to see if they will run it again and write any codes down. Any help from this forum will help.
thanks,
Deerhill
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________
2000 dodge ram 2500
short bed
all stock
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:15 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,348
Default

I would have thought the pressure sensor and solenoid would have fixed that...... Time to check pressures....
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2011, 08:52 PM
bjr1a bjr1a is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 186
Default

Are you sure there is not a blown fuse?...You have described the loss of voltage to transmission.......

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2011, 01:08 AM
njstk1086's Avatar
njstk1086 njstk1086 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Vehicle: 98 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 5.2l v8
Location: southern jersey
Posts: 1
Default

theres a speed sensor on the side of the tranny that can go bad, i just had a similar issue with my 98 and that ended up being the culprit...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2011, 10:35 AM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Registered User
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Try this and see what if any codes come up, http://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen-...code-list.html
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2011, 01:05 PM
TimSully88's Avatar
TimSully88 TimSully88 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Vehicle: 1999 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD
Location: Boston
Posts: 100
Default

I had a similar problem not long ago and the best advice came from this forum. It's simple but check all of your battery connections. I fell for advice from a tranny shop on a noise reduction filter and it seemed to work, but the problem came back. This time I paid close attention to all of my battery connections (two batteries) and some were loose.

The other issue I found through my research that may be a culprit is the APPS (accelerator pedal position sensor).
__________________
Sully
1999 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4
24 Valve CTD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2011, 01:58 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,348
Default

Is the 2000 truck drive by wire? Do they even HAVE the apps??
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2011, 04:17 AM
ITSUE-PURMAN ITSUE-PURMAN is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default operating temp

I have a 2000 banana sport 360 auto and after about 20 miles it finally shifts. usually about my destination. I did a swap 10k ago for 400 bux. AAHHH I'VE GOTTON USE TO IT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-31-2011, 09:45 AM
deerhill deerhill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2000 4x4 ram 2500 cummins and automatic
Location: southern illinois
Posts: 6
Default

Hello ,
I did the key code and P0753 is the only code that came up , 3-4 solinoid . thanks zman17

under the hood in the fuse box there is a relay called transmission relay , is this the fuse you are talking about bjr1a ?
__________________
2000 dodge ram 2500
short bed
all stock
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-31-2011, 09:51 AM
deerhill deerhill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2000 4x4 ram 2500 cummins and automatic
Location: southern illinois
Posts: 6
Default

TimSully88 ,
Some one else had said to check the battery posts so I replaced all the ends with solder on ends and put new eye ends on the smaller wires , but did not help .
thanks
__________________
2000 dodge ram 2500
short bed
all stock
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-31-2011, 01:54 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Registered User
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Check that fuse and swap the trans relay with the horn relay. If that doesn't cure it, then the OD/TC lockup solenoid unit is the most likely culprit.
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-08-2011, 11:55 AM
deerhill deerhill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2000 4x4 ram 2500 cummins and automatic
Location: southern illinois
Posts: 6
Default

zman17,
I took my truck to a mechanic and he told me the problem was in my transmission so I went to my transmission guy and he said it was electrical and it was problem with my computor. I know a guy who works at a salvage yard and I am going to see if he can get me one to try, do they have to be the same year and model of truck or will one from a 2 wheel drive work?
thanks
__________________
2000 dodge ram 2500
short bed
all stock
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-08-2011, 12:16 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Registered User
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

I don't think you have a PCM problem. But to answer your question. Get one from the same year and as close to the saame options you have. 2 or 4wd does not matter however.
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-17-2012, 11:17 PM
rynmcdonald rynmcdonald is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Albeit I am new here, I am a skilled mechanic, but I have a 46RE that is giving me the fits. Having the issue of not shifting into OD. Took the lock up and OD solenoid block out and found that it was no good. I replaced it and it still doens't shift into OD. Where is this fuse or circuit that routes power to the proper solenoid located? The truck is a 2001 Ram 1500 V6
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-17-2012, 11:35 PM
gdstock's Avatar
gdstock gdstock is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 1999 Ram 1500, 5.2L auto
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rynmcdonald View Post
Albeit I am new here, I am a skilled mechanic, but I have a 46RE that is giving me the fits. Having the issue of not shifting into OD. Took the lock up and OD solenoid block out and found that it was no good. I replaced it and it still doens't shift into OD. Where is this fuse or circuit that routes power to the proper solenoid located? The truck is a 2001 Ram 1500 V6
Not sure where the fuse is....Check the FAQ/DIY section and download service manual.
__________________
Ram 1500, 5.2L, 2wd, hardened trans with Derale pan, Hayden trans cooler, kegger mod, SCT tuned. New metallic black paint, TCP e-fans, HS 1.7 Rockers, restored interior.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-18-2012, 12:20 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17 zman17 is offline
Registered User
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vehicle: 2000 2500HD 4x4 5.9
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rynmcdonald View Post
Albeit I am new here, I am a skilled mechanic, but I have a 46RE that is giving me the fits. Having the issue of not shifting into OD. Took the lock up and OD solenoid block out and found that it was no good. I replaced it and it still doens't shift into OD. Where is this fuse or circuit that routes power to the proper solenoid located? The truck is a 2001 Ram 1500 V6

Does the OD lite go on and off when you push the button? Just curious.
__________________
2000 2500HD 4X4 5.9 and 4:10's,HF tuned SCT,Red-Head gear box, HS 1.7's,
50mm Fastman TB, Hughes Plate,2" Hell Bent ,Volant CAI
Flowmaster 50 series, Rock Solid Ram Steering fix,B&M trans cooler,fuzzy dice good for 5HP
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-16-2013, 08:46 PM
RTtrucklove RTtrucklove is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Sounds like the "range Sensor" $190 to replace not including labor if you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-16-2013, 08:47 PM
RTtrucklove RTtrucklove is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Should be located on passenger side of tranny
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-16-2013, 08:58 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou HeyYou is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 1996 Dodge Ram 2500
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 34,348
Default

What's a range sensor?
__________________
1996 Ram 2500 5.9 EC/SB Gas, Auto, 4x4, Hughes plenum plate, Kegger mod, double roller timing set, rest is stock. For now.....
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-17-2013, 12:29 AM
gdstock's Avatar
gdstock gdstock is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 1999 Ram 1500, 5.2L auto
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
What's a range sensor?

It's the thinggy by the old thread button....
__________________
Ram 1500, 5.2L, 2wd, hardened trans with Derale pan, Hayden trans cooler, kegger mod, SCT tuned. New metallic black paint, TCP e-fans, HS 1.7 Rockers, restored interior.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:29 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails