1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Please help me. How do I pull this sensor out?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2007, 05:52 PM
demo67
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help me. How do I pull this sensor out?

I have the abs and brake light on. I already have the rear differential sensor ready, my problem is that the sensor will not come off. I disconnected everything.

1. I disconnected the battery.

2. with 13 mm socket removed first nut

3. removed firt brake harness(or bracket)

4. disconnected wire hoockup

5. with 14 mm deep socket removed the next nut and metal bracket

6. I wiggled sensor but it will not come out. It will turn all the way around but will not budge outward.

7. I'm stuck. I don't want to make it worse. is there a trick to pulling out these sensors or some type of tool? it's difficult to wiggle the sensor and pull away from you while underneath the vehicle. I'm very new to this, please help me.

thanks in advance for your help

Old 10-18-2007, 07:25 PM
demo67
Default RE: Please help me. How do I pull this sensor out?

since i was not getting any replies I tried a flat screwdriver and broke off the sensor with the plastic case stuck inside the differential. I was able to get the o-ring out but cannot manage to pull out the plastic encasing. needless to say now i have my abs and brake light stay on and now my speedometer isn't working. I'm going to have to take the truck to the dealer. The sad part is the fact that the sensor was in perfect working condition. I've thought about a cork screw and pulling it off. anybody has any suggestions? i'm not sure about leaving any debris inside the differential.

Old 10-18-2007, 07:32 PM
deerang
All Star

is the sensor plastic?? how stuck is it inside of the diff? has it fallen into the diff itself?

I've never taken one of these out, nor have I even taken a close look at one from the outside.

Old 10-18-2007, 07:47 PM
demo67