Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2008, 03:32 PM
jimbo74
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 2wd Dodge Durango help needed

Ok, so I am no newbie to the automotive world, but I am greenie to the Durango

We have an 02 Dodge Durango that needs some help... Several issues

It used to have a horrible exhuast leak... got that fixed, it was the driver's side exhuast manifold while we had that, we had a check engine light after the manifold gasket was replaced, I went and got the codes cleared @ Autozone. P0036... code came back within 5 minutes, cleared them again, and again it's back on.... Prior to clearing the codes, I tried to reset the computer by pulling the battery, did not help, light remained on.My wife has since reported that itis nowrough starting, has a surging idle, and it stalls out when she shifts into reverse. It did not do this before I pulled the battery.

How common is upper balljoint failure?She was quoted about $600 from a shop to have it done, however,I am confident I can do it rather quickly and only spend $120 in parts

They also want to charge $300 to replace the pinion seal and the diff cover gasket, they say its leaking, but all domesticsI have ever seen seep a little... level is fine

They want $200 to replace the "collapsed" tranny mount,I can do it myself for $40 in parts

They want to replace the left front bearing, they said there was play in it, forget how much they wanted, but I can do it myself, for cheap, like $120 as it's an integrated hub assembly

There is more stuffI need help with but I have it posted on another non-Dodge board, and it is currently down, andI am not sure whatI posted... The helpI got there, was go to DodgeForum, lol

PLEASE HELP.. This is my wife's car, and my daughter is in it exclusively, daily.... I don't want anything to happen to my girls.....

Old 07-01-2008, 07:59 PM
jeff66
Rookie
Default RE: 2002 2wd Dodge Durango help needed