1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Air/Fuel Mixture thrown off

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2011, 01:43 PM
WhiteWidow00
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air/Fuel Mixture thrown off

I have had a problem with my engine, and I haven't been able to put my finger on and I'm stumped. I'm hoping the minds on here will be able to put out heads together.

I'm a 3 year mechanic and master in Dodge engines (have lots of experience on the 5.2/5.9) and I am having a weird Air/Fuel Mixture problem.

The problem happens when the engine is warmed up and not particular to when I'm driving. It has gotten worse lately and I've become stumped on what it may be.

What it has been doing is, I'll be at a stop light and it will have a rough idle then my RPMs will go from 400 to the normal 600 and fluctuate from there. It will do this but when I hit FOT it is fine and doesn't do anything. Once I let off the throttle it will go back down to the idle stumble.

When I am on the interstate sometimes I can hear backfire and I will lose power to the engine and then I hit the throttle and re-gain throttle control.

I am stumped because I have replaced both O2 sensors with factory sensors, replaced the CPS, the battery is less than a year old and checked out OK, and checked over the sensor wiring and it looks alright. Oh and I also have replaced the TPS and it's sending he correct signal. Ive also cleaned out my throttle body, and even replaced the IAC. I also just replaced the plugs and wires with MSD 8.5 and Champion Copper core .040.

According to the engine code index, it states that both upstream and downstream sensors are sending too high of a voltage signal. I am stumped as where to look next.

Anyone seen this happen or have a fix for this because I hate to keep driving in it with a possible bad problem. I had the CAT checked for too much back pressure and it read fine and not too much pressure.