Interior lights stay on

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2011, 12:31 PM
jesshayl1
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interior lights stay on

Hello!

I have a 2002 Durango, 2WD, V8.

I'm having very strange problems with my interior lights staying on, as well as the door "chime". I have to take out the fuse when I'm not driving, plus I can't leave it out, because it affects my brake lights as well.

I believe it must be something to do with the ignition or maybe the place on the door where it tells the car the door is closed, but I'm no mechanic.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Old 03-10-2011, 12:39 PM
jesshayl1

any ideas where the door jamb switch is located? I've looked around and couldn't locate it.

Old 03-10-2011, 12:40 PM
WhiteWidow00
Record Breaker

Well as far as it being a common problem, no. I've only heard and seen it a handful of times and theres a lot of other problems that go in the category of common.

The only way it can be a door problem is if the door ajar light in the dash comes on. If not, check and make sure your dome light dimmer isn't all the way turned up.

If the door ajar light is on, unfortunately is it in the door latch mechanism. There is no isolated switch that controls when the dome lights come on, it's just the entire lath mechanism in the door. They are moved by 2 T25 (IIRC) screws that keep it in and you must remove the door panel to remove it.

There is really no way to test each of the door latches without removing them and testing resistance because the wires are so hard to get to.

Of course if it says Gate Ajar, you know where to start. LOL

Old 03-10-2011, 12:47 PM
jesshayl1

Thanks for the info. It doesn't indicate that any door or gate is open. So basically this is going to cost me a fortune to fix most likely. It may be time to retire old Betsy. I don't want to do that because she's got low mileage for an '02 (88K). Just my luck!

Old 03-10-2011, 12:58 PM
WhiteWidow00
Record Breaker