1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

2001 Durango Sadly Totaled - Salvage Advice?

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2019, 12:48 PM
bbddpp
Rookie
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 2001 Durango Sadly Totaled - Salvage Advice?

A deer and I had a high-speed highway run-in over the weekend and by beloved 2001 Durango didn't make it out alive. Damage to the radiator and front bumper are bad. The rest of the car, however, is fine. Electronics, everything inside, the tires, the glass, leather seating (all 3 rows) even the doors (save the rust on the lower right drivers door). Engine turns over just fine (though without fluids I would not run it more than a few seconds).

I have no experience taking a car apart, however I have an empty bay in my garage and am looking for some advice...The insurance company will let me keep this for salvage if I take $700 off the $2100 they are offering me for the car. I can't help but think I can get more than $700 out of this thing piece by piece. Plus I have never taken a car apart before. Could be interesting?

The other question I would have for anyone who has done this before then is what my cost will be to have the carcass taken out of my garage and to the junkyard when I'm through (this of course is covered for me if I just take the $2100 and let them have it).

Advice would be welcomed, either way. I am in Pennyslvania.

Old 10-15-2019, 02:05 PM
ol' grouch
Champion
Received 594 Likes on 539 Posts

Originally Posted by bbddpp
A deer and I had a high-speed highway run-in over the weekend and by beloved 2001 Durango didn't make it out alive. Damage to the radiator and front bumper are bad. The rest of the car, however, is fine. Electronics, everything inside, the tires, the glass, leather seating (all 3 rows) even the doors (save the rust on the lower right drivers door). Engine turns over just fine (though without fluids I would not run it more than a few seconds).