1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

86 Ram Electrical Issue

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2021, 05:42 PM
OldBlue86
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 86 Ram Electrical Issue

Hey Guys,
This is my first time posting though I've often lurked on threads on this site. Just a warning up front I'm kind of a noob at this.
Now for my problem. I have an 86' Ram D100 with the 318. Up to this point I was driving it pretty regularly to work once or twice a week. However, seemingly overnight it has stopped wanting to turn over. I looked at the most likely causes in my Haynes manual and thought I had found the problem with bad coil. So I replaced that and figured I might as well replace the distributor and cables and such while I was at it but after I got that all in and tried to crank it again I had no luck. but after trying to crank it about 3 times there was a pop and one of the wires right along the drivers side wall has fried. Seems I have a short somewhere. I looked into this and found it called a "Fuse Link". I'm not sure what it connects to I am going to be trying to track it down when I get a chance I'm just wondering if anyone else has some Idea where it may go so I don't have to tear all the wire harnesses apart. Or some way I can replace this Fuse Link thing.
Thanks, Sorry for the long post

Old 09-21-2021, 01:50 PM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

what ignition system does it have or do you have any pictures of under the hood or what your having issues with?

Old 09-21-2021, 07:16 PM
OldBlue86

Sorry I should have thrown some pictures in when I first posted. It looks to be a 20ga link if that helps.

This orange wire with the holse in it is the fusable link that seems to have blown out.