2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

2003 Dakota Magnum V6 3.9L dying out

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2011, 11:44 PM
weedmonke25
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Dakota Magnum V6 3.9L dying out

Hello all! Brand new to this forum and looking for some advice. I just purchased a 2003 Dakota Quad cab 4wd for a VERY reasonable price. I was very happy for the first 100km, then found out why I got it so cheap. The engine intermittantly will die out, usually after turning a corner, although not always. The engine continues to run, but when I put my foot into it to accelerate, it just bogs and slows down. I found that if I put my foot all the way to the floor, it will take off again, but then does it again next time I lay off the gas. Sometimes I can go for a long drive and it will run fine, other times this happens several times on a short trip. I'm new to fuel injection, but am thinking maybe TPS?? Anybody had a similar fault? Any advice I can get would be great. Thanks for reading!!

Old 02-23-2011, 08:59 AM
thunder98110
Champion
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

check the pressure in your fuel pump by buying fuel pressure test kit at autozone and hook it up to the fuel rail.

Old 02-23-2011, 09:49 AM
01SilverCC
Record Breaker
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Also check the TPS output voltage. With the engine off, key in on/run position the center wire on the TPS connector plug should have about half a volt on it with the throttle closed. Slowly open the throttle by hand, the voltage should slowly and steadily increase as you open the throttle plate to about 4.5 to 4.8 volts with the throttle wide open. An intermittent TPS problem can be hard to diagnose but it sounds like your TPS may be bad. You could just replace it anyway and see what happens, they are not very expensive.

Jimmy

Old 02-23-2011, 10:18 AM
Blaze10
Record Breaker