2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

A little help locating the tech/DIY articles, please?

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2010, 05:43 PM
03SXTGUY
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A little help locating the tech/DIY articles, please?

Hello,

My name's Ben and I'm new to the Dodge world. My sister totaled her '03 Neon SXT (4cyl, 2.0L) (80,800 mi) back before Christmas. She bought an '03 Civic to replace it, and I'm currently in the midst of getting the Neon fixed to get back on the road.

I'm no mechanic but have excellent mechanically skills as I own an Audi (if you know anything about German luxury cars...you understand what I mean lol). However, on our forums we do a LOT of DIY/How-to's and post them in a section of our forum. I have tried searching the DIY section on this forum and it seems very hard to navigate around to find specific DIYs on the 2nd Gen Neon (always seems to come up things for RAMs, Durangos, etc.)
I'm a missing something here? lol

The main DIYs I'm looking for are the front rotors/pads and rear drums/shoes. It is one of the last things I am going to replace on her Neon as I've read all about braking issues w/ Neons and hers looks pretty rusted. The girl hardly even cleaned out the cabin, let alone do I think she worried about replacing drums when they should've been! I know they do squeal an awful lot. So I went to Advanced Auto and picked up Wearever rear drums ($30/pc), Wagner Ultra-quiet Brake Shoes, 1 Set (4) Bosch Copper Super+ spark plugs (which took me 11 mins to install! I was AMAZED at how easy it was compared to the Audi rotfl - I loved it!) and then went over to Autozone where they had the Wagner Left & Right Drum Auto-Alignment kit, & New rear drum hardware kit. I was told it is best to replace the hardware/alignment kits whenever you're doing new drums as the old ones can get rusted up and seize, affecting your braking performance.