2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

2000 Neon JERKING.

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2012, 08:07 PM
BrittanyLeigh
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Neon JERKING.

For starters I'm pretty new to fixing my own vehicle without a mechanic. Having said that, please dumb down the car jargin for me so that I may understand. Haha. Well, anyway, I've been having major issues with my 2000 dodge neon for over a year now. My major problem is jerking between 1500 and 2000 rpm. Doesn't happen every time I drive, seems to happen in stop-and-go traffic when I have to slow down and immediately speed back up. When its jerking I can sometimes smash down on the gas pedal and it'll quit. My gas mileage is horrible, about 15 mpg. Engine seems to warm up a bit slow but once it's warm it stays right on the halfway line, never higher. I took it to a mechanic who told me it was the throttle control and that I needed to fork out 2,000 dollars to replace the tranny. I didn't believe him so I took it into my own hands. Took it down to auto zone and got my check engine light read. The man would not tell me the exact code (Probably because I'm a girl) and just told me it was a faulty knock sensor. I replaced the knock sensor, spark plugs. Didn't make a difference other than level out my idle. I also replace the transmission fluid and filter last winter which helped with the jerking for about 4 months. I also changed my engine coolant which turned off my check engine light for about a week. (Check engine light has been on solid for past year) I've also noticed that my car is EXTREMELY sluggish and just really has no UMPH to it. I'm wondering what the hell could cause my knock sensor code to go off, if its not a faulty sensor?! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Old 11-09-2012, 10:47 PM
cheapez
Veteran

At least you know how to change transmission fluid.