2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 2nd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Possibly buying a 2001 Dodge Ram 1500. Need some advice. Pics included.

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2013, 05:47 AM
SolidSnake
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possibly buying a 2001 Dodge Ram 1500. Need some advice. Pics included.

Hey guys and gals, just joined the forum today and thought I'd stop by and say hello and hopefully get some advice about a truck I'm potentially about to purchase. It's definitely a fixer upper but, I was looking for a project truck and for 680$ it's not in that bad of shape.

So, for starters the only thing wrong with it (mechanically at least) is the water pump. Parts are already on the way and the water pump is relatively easy to replace to so I'm not real worried about that. My real question is, what are some common problems I should be on the look out for.

This is my first time owning a Dodge vehicle of any kind and like any car/truck, they each have their own set of problems.

The vehicle currently has 137,000 miles and the transmission was rebuilt at 100k. Oil has been replaced at steady intervals but besides that it didn't have a very steady maintenance schedule.

If you have time, take a look at some of the pictures I took and let me know if you see anything that sticks out to you. Anyways the more I know, the better and any help is greatly appreciated.

Here's the link to all the pics. http://bit.ly/102aS1p

Old 06-19-2013, 06:54 AM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

welcome to df.
00-01's are the best, with better brakes.

replace timing set, front seal, and replace plenum gasket/plate with the aluminum plate. your timing chain will be shot.
consider replacing valve cover gaskets with the good rubber felpro's. yours are seeping a little bit.

pics
https://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen...ater-pump.html

Old 06-19-2013, 10:14 AM
CSDavies26
Veteran