2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Timing Chain replacment

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2017, 12:20 PM
fun4vern
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing Chain replacment

OK be gentle with me. This is my first time posting here. 1999 ram 1500 4x4 auto 5.9 gaser. Getting ready to do the timing chain and plenum fix here in a couple days. Got a couple Questions for the people in the know here.
1. Is there a timing chain tensioner on our engine?
2. Would it be a good idea to change harmonic balancer while have it apart?
3. The double chain is the best. Correct? Or does it matter?
Do not have an unlimited budget so any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Have done the plenum on another 2nd gen 5.9 so not worried about that. Been years since I did a timing chain and that was on a Chevy. I just want to make sure I have everything I need so don't have to do a few runs to the auto parts store.
This has probubly been addressed before but I just can't find straight forward answers.
Want to thank ya all in advance for your input.

Old 12-25-2017, 12:36 PM
frankie_b_jr
Captain
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts

Originally Posted by fun4vern
1. Is there a timing chain tensioner on our engine?
2. Would it be a good idea to change harmonic balancer while have it apart?
3. The double chain is the best. Correct? Or does it matter?
Welcome to DF.
1- Stock, there isn't one, but they are available if you feel the need.

2- Look at the rubber. If it looks rotted or like it's slipped out of place at all then it needs replacing. Otherwise it's just a question of preventive maintenance.

3- Yes, a double roller is the best choice for replacement. I think Cloyes is the preferred brand, but any reputable offering will work well.

Old 12-25-2017, 01:05 PM
HeyYou
Administrator