2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

wow, im wooped

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2009, 07:25 PM
wjxavier
Record Breaker
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default wow, im wooped

ok, so today i changed the tranny fluid and filter in my truck...took longer than expected and a lot of pain and agony. i mean, damn, if i was an engineer, i would've come up with a tranny pan that had a f*cking plug in it. lol. anyway, so now my truck is sitting in the driveway with a drip pan under it leaking tranny fluid from the pan...the reason its leaking tranny fluid is because the seal i got, even with permatex, at one corner will push out...and not stay in. i honestly am beat right now, i dont want to take the pan back off...but i guess if i have to i must. i tried sealing around the area with more permatex, but its leaking so much, i cant get it to stick...any suggestions? i'm probably just gonna go and do it all over again. yayyyyy....

Old 06-13-2009, 07:37 PM
dsertdog56
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

A. you never use gasket sealer on a pan gasket. If the pan bolts are torqued in the proper sequence and specification, the fluid itself will cause the gasket to expand and further seal it.

B. If you're pushing the gasket out, or permatex out you are tightening it too tight. See A.

C. Peramtex will not not stop a drip. You must buy a new gasket, drop the pan again, scrape off all the sealer and gasket material and do it over. If you get a gasket with reduced bolt holes to start everything great. If not, a couple three drops of super glue and the gasket held down till it dries will keep it in place.

D. Proper torque for the Tranny pan bolts is 150 INCH pounds. Thats just a few hairs over finger tight.