2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

New to fourms with some questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2012, 11:55 PM
COL
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to fourms with some questions

Hi all, I am new to the fourms and had a few questions. First I should start and tell you my ride. I have a 1996 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 SLT Laramie SPORT with fully loaded with the 360ci Magnum engine. I love my truck. Its black and in really good shape. I will have to post some pictures some time. My question is with the Infinity Audio. I recently wrecked one of my speakers when tearing my door apart. I was really happy with the sound that came out of them, so I kind of wanted to stick with them. I went to my local salvage yard and found no rams with infinity audio, but i found a Jeep Grand Cherokee with infinity audio. They are both 6x9 in the front doors. I need to replace my passenger door speaker, and got the one out of the drivers door of the Jeep. Will these speakers work for me just plug and play? I dont want to cut or splice my factory harness in my truck. any help would be great!

Old 03-27-2012, 12:06 AM
gdstock
Legend
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Can't really tell without looking. I would think the connectors are the same. Did you look at them?

Old 03-27-2012, 07:07 AM
Ham Bone
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

While the infinity speakers were great back when the truck first came out, they are getting old.

A good set of aftermarket speakers wouldn't run you too much money and you would get better quality.

Old 03-27-2012, 07:13 AM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

they might work. look and see if they both have the on-board amps attached. your problem might be a bad amp, and not a bad speaker.

see the AV subforum for lots of info.