2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Basic code reader help I/M Monitors

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2012, 12:16 AM
pure adrenaline
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Basic code reader help I/M Monitors

I have a very basic question(I think) regarding computer error codes and "I/M Monitors" or Inspection maintenance monitors. My question is simple, Why? Why does your automobile select a random number of emission system functions to monitor. I am a noob in regards to computers and error codes so I may be overlooking something very basic.

I recently bought a cheapo code reader from Auto Zone(ACTRON CP9125) and I am using it on my 2000 Dodge Ram Club cab 2x4 w\318.No errors are being read from my vehicle but near the end of the test the device displays a set of 6 "Internal Maintenance Monitor" codes. The manual for the device shows a possible 11 of these monitors (MISFIRE,COMP,FUEL,CATLYST,HTD CAT,EVAP,SEC AIR,A/C,O2 SNSR,O2 HTR AND EGR). When data is collected from my automobile only 6 of these are displayed. 3 are in the "ready" state(MISFIRE,COMP,FUEL) and 3 are in the "Incomplete" state(O2 SNSR, O2 HTR and CATALYST). Are these six monitors the only ones available on my vehicle or is there something else going on here. I would suspect that all 11 would be "ready" or "Incomplete". Why DONT the remaining 5 items(SEC AIR, HTD CAT, EVAP, EGR and A\C) show up on my code reader and why DO the 6 show up?

Again, I am sure my understanding about WTH i am doing is at fault here so go easy on me. I did unplug my battery for 2 hours and used the erase function on my code reader trying to understand my above problem. I believe the incomplete items are due to me loosing the historical data related to each.

The model number of my code reader is the ACTRON CP9125.
Thank you!