2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

97 Ram No Idle Roll off Brake

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2012, 08:14 PM
Ramtruck97
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 97 Ram No Idle Roll off Brake

Hello Everyone,
This is my first post here so i will try to keep it short.I have a 97 Ram 1500 4x4 5.2ltr auto 9.25 posi rear 137k.
Ive been fixing cars for nearly 20 years and this issue has me feeling the need to get input from others who may have some ideas before i dive head first into the trans and transfer case. Both of which work fine and shift well. There are no codes/lights excessively hot items(eg brake rotors/hubs, lugs).
The problem: When the service brakes are released the truck doesnt move. It sits there for 2-5 seconds, unless the accelerator is depressed of course, before it begins to creep. Slight pulsing chug is felt as the speed increases; then a smooth SLOW idle roll. If the brake is reapplied the same senario happens. It is the same whether it is in drive or reverse
Its like a dragging or slow to release brake, However if you are on slight downgrade, brake release is quick and idle roll normal. If slight incline, brake release is normal and the truck will gradually roll backwards.(Not sure if that is normal for dodge trucks)
It also seems to take a bit more throttle to get going but once there it seems normal. Starting on a slight incline takes 1800-2200rpm to get accelerating at a decend rate. After 46miles driving the truck is getting 10mpg. Epa normal is 15/19-21. Trans does not slip or shift poorly and fluid is in good shape.
At this point im leaning towards a low line pressure condition in the trans at idle or just a bad converter. i was planning on pressure testing the trans if ok then do a service and adjustment.