2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1998 Dodge Ram 1500 electrical issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2012, 04:18 PM
ravenFTL
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 electrical issues

Hello there, having electrical issues with my '98 dodge ram 1500. I have no real experience with working on vehicles aside from switching out basic parts. I am a "diy-er" and I hate spending an exorbitant amount of money to fix something I can myself. Anyways, my truck is showing about 5 or so blown fuses: ABS, radio, seatbelts, and a couple others I cannot remember off the top of my head. In addition to those fuses my speedometer, and odometer are out as well as the buzzer. The check engine light is also on. I have already replaced the fuses several times to see if that would resolve the issue but it has not. From what I remember all the problems manifested themselves at the same time, to me this means the problems most likely are all connected. Having spoken with people wiser than I they suggested I start checking the grounds first but looking at the electrical diagrams in my haynes manual there seems to be a whole lot of grounds. I guess thats to be expected but I have no idea where to start looking. Someone suggested start with the engine bay grounds but since my issue seems to be in the cabin I dont know why I would start there. I don't really want to dive into this till I have a game plan because I imagine I will be taking my truck apart. If someone could give me some direction.

Old 12-08-2012, 09:02 PM
dlyter09
Champion

Have you done any recent work under the hood? There is plenty of grounds under the hood that can and WILL cause an issue... You are saying that all those fuses are blown? Did they blow again once you replaced them?

Old 12-09-2012, 01:14 PM
jasonw