2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1999 Dodge Ram 1500 ABS & Brake Light & Brakes Pulling

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2020, 09:15 PM
twoodrum12
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 Dodge Ram 1500 ABS & Brake Light & Brakes Pulling

I am new to the Dodge world and just recently got a 1999 Dodge Ram 1500 (4WD) from my grandfather. When I got it the ABS and BRAKE lights were on but speedometer still worked fine. After reading through the threads I still tried replaced the ABS speed sensor on the back differential. Nothing changed, still both lights on and the speedometer works fine. I could deal with the lights but on top of the lights the brake pedal has to be pressed down roughly 70% of the way before I feel the brakes really engage and when they do start it pulls hard right then hard left. Every time is the same, the severity of the pull just increases with increased speed. Does anyone have a "next step" for me to troubleshoot? It's a free truck with 85k miles, but I don't want to have to rebuild it to drive it.
Thanks,

Last edited by twoodrum12; 07-11-2020 at 09:19 PM. Reason: added vehicle description
Old 07-11-2020, 10:38 PM
dodgedakota98luver
Captain
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by twoodrum12