2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Need some help fellas(5.9 V8)

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2021, 08:08 PM
BM9NBA2
Professional
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Need some help fellas(5.9 V8)

Alright so the engine has spark and is getting fuel. This past weekend I hadn't drove the truck at all then Monday I go to start it with my remote it fires up so I didn't think anything of it, but I go outside and it isn't running. I pop the hood after trying to turn it over for a couple seconds after it decided to still not start I open the hood and there's smoke coming out of the throttle body/intake and quite a bit. What's the problem? I'm not very good at diagnosing as I've never had this problem with this truck it has always started for me. I did have the engine replaced in June of 2020 because the old engine block it was about to rot all the way through because the truck was neglected before by previous owner along with it being a northern truck. Didn't have any performance issues or anything since the engine swap and oil is nice and clean

Last edited by BM9NBA2; 12-17-2021 at 08:37 PM.
Old 12-17-2021, 11:36 PM
master tech
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 96 Likes on 81 Posts

I would check the fuel line to make sure you don't have a fuel leak. I would also check the ignition wires and electrical wires at the throttle too.

The following users liked this post:
BM9NBA2 (12-17-2021)
Old 12-17-2021, 11:42 PM
BM9NBA2
Professional

Originally Posted by master tech
I would check the fuel line to make sure you don't have a fuel leak. I would also check the ignition wires and electrical wires at the throttle too.