2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2001 Coolant Leak

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2022, 12:50 PM
Rhodos
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post 2001 Coolant Leak

Hey yall,

I've gotten plenty of help from this forum so far but this is my first actual post. I've got a 2001 Ram 1500 Laramie 5.9L that's sprung a coolant leak. When the engine heats up and gets pressurized it starts steaming out the passenger side of the engine, there is no dripping/pooling when the engine is cold. I'm pretty new to auto repair so I'm having trouble figuring out how to fix it (if it's even something I want to fix myself) or even identifying the names of some components. That being said, I've pinpointed where the leak is and I've highlighted it in the attached picture. Can I get some help understanding what part I'm looking at and how it would need to be patched? Thanks.

Location of the leak, view from underneath the passenger side of the engine.

Old 02-05-2022, 02:23 PM
master tech
Site Moderator & Tech
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 96 Likes on 81 Posts

From what I can see, the leak maybe coming from the timing cover. This does happen sometimes. I would recommend a shop to make the repairs if you don't have the tools to make the repairs. These motors would also bad with the freeze plugs on the rear of the engine to leak as well. Those would be in the block, the transmission would need to be removed to replace those.

Old 02-05-2022, 03:47 PM
Ramman18
Champion
Received 108 Likes on 93 Posts

Yep, timing cover gasket. Pretty big job. Have to remove everything in front of it. Might as well do new chain, water pump, hoses, and tstat, etc. while you're in there.

Old 02-06-2022, 09:40 AM
Keith_L
Record Breaker
Received 135 Likes on 122 Posts

I just did this an a '98 5.9