2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Can't Trust Parking Brake

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2022, 03:06 PM
Kulte
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can't Trust Parking Brake

Hello,

New member (but old lurker) here and am just now getting comfortable with getting my hands greasy in my truck. I have never been mechanically inclined but as I age I am getting more interested in fixing stuff in the house or on vehicles--and my truck is a "target rich environment"! As I am a beginner, please feel free to correct my terms or educate me--I'm here to learn!

I am the original owner of a 1998 RAM 1500, 5.2L, manual transmission. Since purchase I have never been able to trust the parking brake. It tends to roll back on steeper inclines when parked, even when I have the transmission in first. When under warranty, I took it to the dealer several times (especially when I found it across the street one morning!) but every time they said "nothing wrong". Later, independent shops told me the same.

Sometimes when I step on the parking brake I will get a full ratcheting sound, other times it hits the floor with one ratchet sound as if it is already deployed.
For now, if I am parked on a moderate angle I use chocks so others are safe.

Any idea what this could be?

Thanks for all the advice you all have given me already over these last months, even if you didn't know it

Last edited by Kulte; 02-15-2022 at 03:25 PM.
Old 02-15-2022, 03:52 PM
PR1AWRet
Veteran
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts