3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Questions about improving gas milage

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 07:14 PM
08_Dakota
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about improving gas milage

Hey Guys,

I am looking for some inexpensive ways to improve fuel milage on my Dak. I have it all stock right now. I have heard that putting in a K&N air filter and switching exhaust to the Magnaflow will increase it about 10 MPG is that really true? Any thoughts on what others have done? Thanks. I am new to the truck world

Old 08-15-2011, 07:20 PM
dakotaff
Champion
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

10MPG.....Ummm....Hell no. It really comes down to your driving habits.

It's a truck, and mpg's are gonna suck.

Old 08-15-2011, 07:24 PM
wingman_214
Veteran

Woah, 10 mpg?

Those mods will help a bit but not 10 mpg. The only real way to increase mpg is to keep up with regular maintance. Tire pressure, air filter, spark plugs, ect, and laying off the throttle.

Old 08-15-2011, 07:53 PM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 338 Likes on 302 Posts

these trucks are rated for 14-18....after all the mods I have done to mine, I get squarely 16 in my combination highway/around town driving. Maybe I'll see 18 sometimes on trips, but mostly high 17's. NOTHING will get you 10 MPG more, if you see something advertised like that, run in the other direction....it's a scam....like those "mystery" chips on ebay, promising 100 hp and 50 mpg...lol...your best bet is a light foot. A cold air intake, low restriction muffler maybe will get you +1 mpg...but you'll be in the throttle so much, cause it will sound so cool...it will negate any mpg increase because of the mods....my anyway....

Old 08-15-2011, 08:42 PM
EliteTempleton
Veteran