3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

White Smoke ??

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2009, 04:57 AM
08mxkfx
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default White Smoke ??

I have a 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 with the 4.7l. It has 90,000 miles on it and its always been taking care of. I used to have a flowmaster exhaust on it but the muffler rusted off so ive been running it with straight pipes for a few months. It throws 4 engine codes and ive been thinking it might be the exhaust being straight pipes or coil packs are going. Right now it has a miss fire in cylinder 1,4 and 8 and then a random miss fire. Starting yesterday when i start it up and start driving down the road it blows ALOT of smoke out of the exhaust for like a minute. Its a white smoke but doesnt smell like antifreeze or oil and doesnt have a blue tint to is so idk what else it could be..... Seems like the antifreeze hasnt gone down and the oil level still looks good. Any idea what it could be? Also had the manifold gaskets replaced 2,000miles ago but doubt that has anything to do with it. Im hoping its not the head gasket. If it is how hard are they do do cause im pretty mechanically inclined since i can tear apart my race quad quad motors easy. And what would the cost of parts if its the head gasket? Any special tools needed? The only reason i dont think it is the head gasket is cause it doesnt have any sweet smell to it like anitfreeze should Seems almost just like water but no idea where that would come.

Old 08-24-2009, 10:16 AM
SeMiGoD
Record Breaker

Head gasket would be my first thought. Run a compression test on it and see how that turns out.

Old 08-24-2009, 10:36 AM
xfeejayx
3rd gen Ram, Newbies