2003 Dodge Ram 1500 4.7 to 5.7 Engine Swap - 1 Problem, Please Help! - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 3rd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 4.7 to 5.7 Engine Swap - 1 Problem, Please Help!
Notices
3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2003 Dodge Ram 1500 4.7 to 5.7 Engine Swap - 1 Problem, Please Help!

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 08-12-2011, 12:26 PM
dodgeborn
dodgeborn is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 4.7 to 5.7 Engine Swap - 1 Problem, Please Help!

I have an 03 Dodge Ram 1500 with a 4.7. I bought a wrecked 03 Dodge Ram with the 5.7 Hemi.
I put the 5.7 engine and tranny in my truck with the with the 5.7 engine wiring harness, PCM, and TCM.
I wired in 6 wires for the drive by wire so the throttle would work.
Only 1 problem! The transmission is in limp mode. I think it starts off in 2 or 3. I have to manually downshift it, but
basically it only goes into two gears.
I pretty sure I changed the Power Distribution Unit out as well b/c there was another computer under the hood that I switched, but I did NOT change the wiring between the PDU and the ECM.
Problem is, stupidly, I have already junked the 5.7 truck.
Can anybody tell me what wires would need to be run or what would need to be done to get the tranny to function properly?
I'm getting a No CCD Bus Communication Code.
Thanks in advance for your help.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2011, 04:01 AM
jasonw's Avatar
jasonw
jasonw is offline
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 8,376
  #3  
Old 08-13-2011, 10:16 AM
Owensue
Owensue is offline
Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 474
Default

The 03 service manual is available here... http://www.4shared.com/document/uUNW...ce_Manual.html

It has all the wiring info you'll need it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2011, 08:04 PM
bandroidx's Avatar
bandroidx
bandroidx is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 79
Default

make sure your 3rd ingition is powered at the ignition harness (maybe ur electrical system swap missed something) it says in the wiring diagram it powers the transmission. IDK if this is helpful or not at all TBH, just something i saw earlier and thought it might be a good place to start.

http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/....asp~TID~41488
 

Last edited by bandroidx; 08-13-2011 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2011, 11:15 AM
HemiDak-Quad
HemiDak-Quad is offline
Captain
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 656
Default

I had that problem when I first swapped mine. It ended up being the wire from the tcm to the ECM There is a 2003 ECM and TCM Pin~out on my thread I think it's on page 8 , 9 , or 10..I'll check it out and try to remember which wire it was I had that problem with ..
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2011, 01:03 PM
HemiDak-Quad
HemiDak-Quad is offline
Captain
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 656
Default

Start with you're Grounds..Here's the wires...
TCM
Pin#29~T29(GY) Ground to fender well...
Pin#37~Z13(BK/RD) Ground to fender well...
Pin#39~Z13(BK/RD) Ground to fender well...
Pin#51~K4 (TN/BK) Ground to C-1 Sensor Ground Pin#18~Z82(BK/TN) wire.
Pin#53~Z113(BK/DB)Ground to Fender well...
Pin#57~Z13 (BK/RD)Ground to fender well...

If all Ground wires are O.K. Then Check all 12 Volt Ignition and Fused Battery wires....Most of These wires go to the PDC also.If you need to know where they go to PDC let me know...

TCM
Pin#8 ~A41 (YL)Ignition..To:C1~Pin#30-A41 (YL) Fused Ignition Output..
Pin#11~A51(RD/WT)Ignition..To:R/W From PDC...
Pin#56~A61(LG/BK)Fused Battery..To:PDC plug..Power Distribution Center (Fuse Box)"under the hood...
Check the 5 volt supply..
Pin#38~T39 (GY/LB) 5 volt supply That wire will be (VT) Or (Orange). There are 2 Orange wires.One is the PTO.Unhook it..The other is a 5 volt..

Check these wires.............If those are right......

Pin#7 ~D15 (wt/dg) SCI Transmit.TO:C1-Pin#36.(PK) PCI Transmit..
Pin#9 ~T9 (OR/BK)Overdrive pressure switch..
Pin#10~T10 (YL/DG)Torque man.Request..
Pin#15~K30 (PK )Trans. Relay Control.TO:Transmission Relay in PDC..
Pin#16~T16 (RD )Transmission Relay Output..To Transmission Relay in PDC..
Pin#17~T16 (RD ) " " " " " "
Pin#36~T16 (RD ) " " " " " " "
Pin#43~D25 (VT/OR) PCI BUS...TO:C1~Pin#38-D25 (VT/BN) PCI BUS..
Pin#45~D6 (PK/LB) SCI Receive..TO:C1~Pin#26,D6 (PK/LB) SCI Receive..

I'm pretty sure when mine had this problem it was because I had the 12 volt supply hooked up wrong.ONE of these wires will fix the problem you're having, You just need to figure out which one.If you need more info on the pin~outs of the TCM or ECM Just let me know...Good Luck
 

Last edited by HemiDak-Quad; 08-17-2011 at 01:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2011, 12:35 AM
jj97blazer
jj97blazer is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default

How big of a pain in the butt is the swap to do and what's the round about price range for it? Sorry to jack your thread bud. I was just wondering.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2011, 12:50 PM
HemiDak-Quad
HemiDak-Quad is offline
Captain
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 656
Default

Originally Posted by jj97blazer View Post
How big of a pain in the butt is the swap to do and what's the round about price range for it? Sorry to jack your thread bud. I was just wondering.
Look at the thread Hemi Swap with pics..Pages 1-8. There are pics on 6 that might make you change you're mind. Money makes it easier, But I didn't have that choice. I built mine and figured out the wiring harness myself.But I passed the info on through that thread so others wouldn't have to spend months searching the computer for bits and pieces of info like I had to...

" Back to this thread"~Did you figure out you're transmission ?
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2012, 09:58 AM
03whiteram's Avatar
03whiteram
03whiteram is offline
Professional
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 119
Default

subscribed
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2012, 10:48 AM
HemiDak-Quad
HemiDak-Quad is offline
Captain
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 656
Default

"DodgeBorn"- Did you figure out what was going on with you're transmission ?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dodge.girl18
3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech
5
07-13-2017 08:41 PM
ralph4570
3rd Gen Ram Tech
5
07-05-2015 08:49 PM
JLC80
3rd Gen Ram Tech
3
07-02-2015 10:39 AM
Baxter263
2nd Gen Dakota
1
06-25-2015 12:40 PM
Dakota
3rd Gen Dakota
16
09-03-2005 01:15 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 PM.