4th Gen Ram Tech 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2009 - 2018 Rams and the 2019 Ram Classic. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Needing some help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2018, 09:36 PM
Ram3
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Needing some help!

Hello i am new to this and also new to owning a hemi, my truck is a 2012 ram 1500 tradesman 5.7l hemi, I have read numerous threads about stuff that could be wrong with my truck.. heavy oil consumption is really the only issue other than some times it kinda hesitates to start kind of like it is trying to catch up (I was thinking crankshaft position sensor could be an issue) anyway about the oil I have taken the mass air off and opened the throttle body and it was oily however I have not yet looked down into to notice if any oil is puddled in the bottom but I am thinking my plenum gasket is shot, my question is I have looked for the gasket or even a video of how to replace it and cannot find anything? The truck runs good I travel for work and it has no issues on the road other than oil consumption also a slight blue puff of smoke on startup but after that all day you can start it without smoke but it will idle all day without a miss or sputter needless I am a bit confused lol there are also no leaks on the motor

Old 01-09-2018, 09:39 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,179 Likes on 2,932 Posts

Originally Posted by Ram3