Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

99 Grand Caravan lemon adventure

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2012, 12:35 PM
electrichead67
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 Grand Caravan lemon adventure

Hi everyone, I'm Arch, new member here. I just bought a 99 Grand Caravan with 180K from a private seller, owner of an auto repair shop/U-Haul dealership. Said they had replaced the engine and rebuilt the tranny around 125K. Carfax and Auto Check reports looked fine. Ran fine during a test drive. I didn't have it pre-inspected though, so this is all on me.

I paid $1500. I'm a musician, and its only purpose was to haul musical and sound equipment to gigs in the MD/DC/VA area. I thought I might get a couple years or more out of it.

Drove it 30 miles home from his shop, then 25 miles later the same day to a performance. Seemed fine on both trips, up to highway speeds with no weird behavior. Heading home afterward, the check engine light came on and it was in limp mode.

Took it to a nearby tranny shop. They said it seems like the tranny is on its last legs and said replacement is pretty much the only option. They reported these codes:

P0700
P0750
P0731
P0765
P1782
P1790
P1791
P1792

They gave me estimates on reman and low-mile used options. I don't expect the seller to do anything. I don't even expect him to respond anymore. But I'm here for second opinions on whether this is just a total loss. Do those codes indicate a total system failure? Or is it possible to address/repair the individual issues (some of which may be consequences of others) and maybe get some life out of it, however short?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Arch

Old 06-15-2012, 03:00 PM
Dan400Man
Professional

Two things: