Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

New Owner: Transmission Fluid & Manual Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2013, 01:22 PM
Ferrino
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Owner: Transmission Fluid & Manual Question

Hi. Just picked up a very nice 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT with 108K miles.

To the best of my knowledge, the only maintenance performed to date has been routine engine oil and filter changes - the engine seems to run very well.

I'm wondering if it would be a good idea to change the transmission fluid now? We obtained a quote from a trusted garage for $190 to do this - does that sound right for the fluid and labor involved? Although I like to do my own wrenching, I've never worked on an auto tranny before - is it really as simple as dropping the pan, draining the fluid, replacing the filter and then resealing the pan and filling? If so, I will probably do it myself.

I do see some people mentioning a "flush" - which I believe is some sort of pressurized introduction of fresh fluid to force out the old. It seems to have many detractors and would be something I can't DIY, so I'm inclined to avoid this.

Also - what would recommend as the best source for a service/repair manual? Is the Haynes for this vehicle any good or is there a better option with diagrams etc...?

Many thanks!

Old 02-04-2013, 02:06 PM
Cougar41
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts