Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

How long?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2007, 04:55 PM
thornrob
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How long?

I just got a 2001 cummins ram with 124k on it. (I'm new to the diesel world) and I was wondering if anyone knows about how long the life expectancy is on the motor. It seems to have been taken care of in the past so I'm hoping to get at least 300k out of it?

Old 04-28-2007, 04:58 PM
jakebrake
Champion
Default RE: How long?

300k should be no problem. If treaten well, I would say between 500k and 600k is reasonable, but if you mod it then that will decrease. The one weak point is the lift pump, if never changed you'll want to swap that out asap or risk burning up your vp 44, very pricey to replace

Old 04-28-2007, 05:15 PM
Mayfair
Legend

Jake, check out this guy's theyry about lift pumps ...

http://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/98...4s-friend.html

( first post )

Watch his video too.

Old 04-28-2007, 05:27 PM
jakebrake
Champion

Sounds like he knows his stuff, thats why the fass has a return line coming off the pump back to the filler neck. The stock return line has to much restriction to flow that much fuel effieceintly.

Old 04-28-2007, 06:17 PM
Mayfair
Legend

Did you notice his last comment in his post where he comments on people mounting FASS's up under the hood? I thought of you right away when Isaw that !!

Old 04-28-2007, 06:22 PM
jakebrake
Champion

I'm not worried, but only time will tell. Plus the pump has a 6year warrenty.

Old 04-28-2007, 10:44 PM
CowboyBob
Record Breaker

Now that is interesting!

Old 04-29-2007, 01:36 AM
blownsoot