Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

running straight pipe

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2007, 08:46 PM
fearless
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default running straight pipe

I have a 2007 5.9 cummins with a 6 speed. I use my truck to haul a 53 ft car trailer and haul 4 cars all day. My question is, if I take my muffler and cat off, will I lose torque??? I always heard you lose back pressure and don't want to lose any of my torque. will this be a good idea for me since i use my truck everyday for pulling??? Please let me know I am a newbie to this site and love it so far.

Old 09-18-2007, 09:35 PM
Silverline
Veteran
Default RE: running straight pipe

Diesels don't rely on back pressure like a gas engine does. In fact, until you get into the 5" exhaust range you're helping your truck breathe better and should reduce exhaust temps. I've straight piped three trucks and noticed gains in power and not a reduction. So in short, I like straight pipes and recommend them as long as you can stand the extraexhaust noise.

Old 09-18-2007, 09:48 PM
steve05ram360
Hall Of Fame
Received 225 Likes on 210 Posts