Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

not impressed

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2007, 01:16 AM
danthetigerfan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default not impressed

Im a self employed Welder, I bought a 07 chasis cab with a 6.7 TD . Im driving the truck without a bed (Im building my own bed, almost done) anyway my friend also a welder has a 06 dually with a 5.9 he is loaded down with tools and a lincoln 250 welding machine. He has added a power chip to the truck. so we decide to test my truck! from a rolling start we stay even at about a 100 mph he totally walks away from me. I am very disappointed in my new truck. My truck should easily pull away from His. Mine has a bigger engine and is appox. 3500 pounds lighter at the moment.

Old 01-31-2007, 01:25 AM
squirtbottle09
Record Breaker
Default RE: not impressed

That chip can make a world of difference in a engine. Also, has your had a chance to break in yet? How do you like the 6.7?

Old 01-31-2007, 01:31 AM
danthetigerfan

runs quiet. handles well. has power in the low rpms. at around 2600 or 2800 rpms it falls on its face. also the truck seems to be geared too low. I have a 6 speed mt and at 100 mph the engine is 3100 rpms. (red line)
thetruck now has 6100 miles. I know the chip makes a lot of difference but there is also a lot of weight difference between our trucks.( mine much lighter cause i dont have my bed and tools on it yet)

Old 01-31-2007, 01:34 AM
Cumminnotstrokin
Professional

I'm always up for a race!!!
never mind mine is still in the shop

Old 01-31-2007, 02:15 AM
htgriffith
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post