Dodge Ram Van The full size Dodge Ram Van that showed that we can go and do as we please. Discuss the Dodge Ram Van here today.

1990 B150 restoration project thingy

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2021, 03:42 PM
1990B150318
Professional
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default 1990 B150 restoration project thingy

Welcome all, decided to post here as a way to document my unofficial Ram Van project. First let me say that I'm not a mechanic, and before owning this van I had only ever changed oil or spark plugs in a vehicle.

This is the 1990 B150 5.2L fuel injected, 3 speed auto, 5300 GVWR, 127" wheelbase, 1/2 ton cargo van.
I purchased the van in 2019 from the original owner - a rural school district in Oregon for $1,160. It was their school lunch van and it accrued 67,000 miles between 1990 and 2018 delivering lunch to a school... or something like that.

There were 3 problems I understood when examining the van; there was an oil leak, low oil pressure, and it pulled to the right. Normally, I would pass on a vehicle with low oil pressure however, this van came with the 5.2L. I used to own a 1979 Dodge Magnum with the 318 and it always had low pressure. For 3 years it was my daily driver and the pressure was always low, the engine rattled, and it always ran. So, on that sentiment, I didn't let the low pressure thing stop me (even though it maybe should have).

After driving the van off and on for about 2 years and adding almost 4,000 miles to it, I started to want to improve the van. I then decided that I would make the van a mechanically sound, somewhat livable RV. That is my goal.

The windows have been sprayed on the inside with frosted glass. The translucency works great!

And speaking of windows, none of the windows in the back open. Only the front two windows open, so I added an RV vent to the roof.

The cargo rack is also mine, but I'm considering a small utility trailer if this project works out.