Dodge Stratus The Dodge Stratus. Whether you've got a sedan or coupe, base model or R/T, theDodge Stratus has winning looks and thrilling performance.

Timing Belt for an 05 Stratus SXT...

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2010 | 11:12 AM
MollyMcPirate
|
Default Timing Belt for an 05 Stratus SXT...

So, I'm not a mechanic, but I need a new timing belt for my car. When I look them up online there are too many to choose from and different price ranges. How do I know what I should purchase? At this point, I'm being told I just need a cheap one to see if it's gonna work.. Any suggestions...

Old 11-05-2010 | 01:09 PM
castlenut
Professional

Installing a timing belt is a lot of work MollyMcPirate. Installing a cheap one is not a good idea. It takes several hours to disassemble and reassemble that it doesn't pay off to use cheap parts. Besides parts may be cheap but its the labor that cost money. Let us know..

Old 11-08-2010 | 12:56 PM
MollyMcPirate
|

I spent 45$ on the belt Friday. Now the guy tells me he doesn't have the correct tool or something. I knew this wasn't going to be the easiest of tasks to begin with. I'm just hoping things will work out okay (no bent rod/ rods) especially considering I still have a year left to pay on it.

Old 11-08-2010 | 02:41 PM
castlenut
Professional

What type of engine do you have?

Old 11-08-2010 | 04:52 PM
MollyMcPirate
|

2.4 dohc

Old 11-08-2010 | 05:08 PM
castlenut
Professional

I have the same engine. You should in theory have no damage. Your engine is non interference. I did my belt after it broke on the highway. It started rite up after I got the belt on there rite but it was no easy job. Who is doing the job?

Old 11-09-2010 | 07:57 AM
MollyMcPirate
|

The chic I work with, her husband is a mechanic. So he is trying to help me out so I don't pay out a ton in labor charges.

Old 11-11-2010 | 09:42 PM
iiambrosinoii