1995-2000 Dodge Avenger The Dodge Avenger had smooth styling in addition to solid craftmanship. To this day you can find Dodge Avenger enthusiasts proud to show of their gems.

a/c belt help

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2009, 12:14 PM
stishdr
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a/c belt help

Hello...

I am new to this car, I just bought it a few days ago. I have a 95 avenger ES. When i brought it home i noticed the a/c didn't work. well i just figured it needed a recharge, but while looking around the engine i noticed it was missing the a/c belt completely, not even there. So i just bought one now, and was wondering if the car has an automatic tensioner, or do i have to do this manually for the belt, if so how, that would be great, thank you.

Old 07-13-2009, 07:34 PM
bad venge
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

be cautious and check the compressor first ... many sell thm with locked up compressors and just removethe belt

Old 07-13-2009, 10:17 PM
blkvet95

Totally manual tensioner.

The outer pully on the compressor will turn easily as the electromagnetic clutch will be disengaged. To check if the compressor is frozen you need to see if you can readily move the inner part of the pully assembly it should easily turn at least 2" or so each way.

Loosen the large side nut on the tensioner, then turn the smaller bolt to loosen the tensioner (think its counterclockwise on this too loosen).

Install belt and tension by tightening small bolt. Tighten until you get only a 1/4" lateral movement in belt then tighten 1 turn more. Then tighten the larger bolt to lock the adjustment.

Old 07-14-2009, 02:56 AM
stishdr