1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

5.3l GM in 1995 Dakota 5.2l?

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2017, 06:57 PM
crane_andrew
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3l GM in 1995 Dakota 5.2l?

Hello all, brand new to the sight. My main ride broke down so I bought a 95 Dakota 4x4 power windows for 500$. It now has 200400 miles on it and the transmission bangs hard in between 1 and 2, with this many miles on the motor and its always on the beach so its complete rust on the underside. I know you can generally find the 5.3l vortec out of the 2000-2006 chevy 1500s for pretty cheap and would LOVE the horsepower and mpg increase. It seems to be a manageable project but I figured I would put it on here. Thanks! Let me know your opinions and or experience doing something similar.

Old 02-28-2017, 10:59 PM
RalphP
Champion
Received 368 Likes on 340 Posts

I have no experience in this, but my perusing finds:

http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...ge-dakota.html

http://lsdak.com/

And several other links.

RwP

Old 03-01-2017, 06:34 PM
volaredon
Record Breaker
Received 48 Likes on 47 Posts

there's reasons Chevy motors are cheap. Don't go there, keep your Dodge all Dodge!

Old 03-04-2017, 07:03 AM
Toby Warford
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversions-hybrids/1553358-world-s-easiest-5-3-swap-dodge-dakota.html

This is the link you want to look at. And yes you should do it. Don't listen to the butthurt Mopar purist. They're just mad because even after they spend $1500 or more on their Magnum it still doesn't make the power a vortec v8 can make factory. And their Magnum still gets worse mpg at that. (I know, who cares about mpgs when you're going for go, but why not have both)

Quick over view of the swap: