1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

01 durango break lights are out, keep blowing fuse - PLEASE give advise

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2011, 09:10 PM
swab
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 01 durango break lights are out, keep blowing fuse - PLEASE give advise

hey guys, you've helped me here in the past with a problem and im hoping you can do it again i really need some advise how to fix my problem.

i have a 2001 dodge durango 4.7L sport and my brake light fuse has been blowing out multiple times. However my taillights still stay on, its just the brake lights that are not working. also, it seems like it doesnt blow out right away because when i put a new fuse in i see my break lights turn on but than after i drive and look later on they blow "the same day". i have been driving without brake lights for about 6 months now i really need to figure this out i dont want a ticket. i really cant afford to bring it to a mechanic and get charged over $150 for them doing this.

i did put aftermarket taillights on my durango that i bought from ebay, could this be doing that? i took it apart and didnt see anything noticeable that would keep blowing my fuse "but i dont know where to look" there is no water in the taillight and there never was so i dont think it is a water issue. maybe could a wire be crammed in a corner doing this? because if the wire had a cut in it wouldn't it short out right away? remember the fuse works for alittle bit before it goes out.

also i got a multi meter i bought from harbor freights, but i dont know how to use it to test the wires.

Old 10-03-2011, 09:27 PM
MoparMan1991
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Maybe a bad ground somewhere or your trailer harness is corroded.

Old 10-03-2011, 09:49 PM
swab
Rookie

Originally Posted by MoparMan1991
Maybe a bad ground somewhere or your trailer harness is corroded.