Update On New PCM - DodgeForum.com

2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Update On New PCM

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 08-31-2018, 10:04 PM
Owen T's Avatar
Owen T
Owen T is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Iowa
Posts: 94
Default Update On New PCM

Hey everyone thought I'd update you on my Dakota since I put a new PCM in. To recap have installed new crankshaft positioning sensor, new cam positioning sensor, idle control sensor, new coolant switch sensor, new 1000 cold cranking amp battery, all the fuses and relays have either been replaced or checked and all are good. Just installed my brand new non refurbished PCM that I ordered from the dealership. I think they felt sorry for me because they did not charge me to flash it with my mileage and VIN number. They did make me push it out of the main repair center before I started it since they did not charge me to flash it didn't quite understand that?

I started it up all the gauges work fine, idled fine until I went to rev It up to see if it would go past 2500 RPMs and guess what... Nope! Doing the same exact damn thing! Will stay running at an idle for about 2 minutes then start idling up and down erratically then dies. Takes forever to restart and will not go over 2500 RPMs! Who was the Podunk that design these Dodge electrical systems!? Well I'm completely out of ideas guys anything else that you can think of other than a 50 cal round through the block!?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:22 PM
magnethead
magnethead is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,358
Default

You really need to hook up to a data logger to read/record the live PID data as it acts up.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:22 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 54,170
Default

Time to do some data logging, and see what is happening there.

The two minutes thing may be how long it takes for the pcm to start paying attention to the O2 sensors. Unplug 'em, see if anything changes.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:23 PM
magnethead
magnethead is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,358
Default

And technically the dealer should have done that when they installed the PCM...oh wait, they didn't "install" the PCM and there's not such papertrail suggesting they did because they didn't bill you. Know why? Because they started it and found out it didn't fix the problem and didn't want to be on the hook for it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:34 PM
Owen T's Avatar
Owen T
Owen T is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Iowa
Posts: 94
Default

Yeah you are probably right....figures with my luck. Also noticed my mileage is way off now, by almost 45k!
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:40 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 54,170
Default

Have a chat with the dealer.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2018, 11:44 PM
Owen T's Avatar
Owen T
Owen T is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Iowa
Posts: 94
Default

I'll going back tomorrow they are open till noon in the service department. There are camera's too so they can't deny it. I'll do the o2 unplug tomorrow too and let you know. It does smell slightly eggy but not horrible.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2018, 08:41 AM
Owen T's Avatar
Owen T
Owen T is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Iowa
Posts: 94
Default

Oh forgot to ask this, why would my mileage be so far off? The PCM has nothing to do with my cluster does it? Thought that was the BCM that controlled the cluster. Tried to limp it back into the garage this morning because it's storming like crazy and now its flashing P0505! This is absolutely crazy! It hasn't flashed anything for o2 sensors but im still going to unplug them.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2018, 12:39 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is online now
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 54,170
Default

505 is idle air control.

Someone fat fingered the numbers when re-programming?
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2018, 12:55 PM
magnethead
magnethead is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,358
Default

The mileage is stored in the cluster itself...not the PCM...at least to my knowledge.

hmmmmmm
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Update On New PCM


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: