2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Timing Chain Questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2008, 09:23 PM
kowboydmac
All Star
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing Chain Questions

When I do my plenum, I plan on installing my water pump I have on hand, new from carquest. I read about doing your timing chain while your down that way replacing the t-stat as well.

Ok, well I'm new to this but want this plenum/water pump to be my first hands on experience in the block so I need to know how difficult the timing chain ordeal is. Is it as simple as removing the old one and replacing it with the new one and having to get a new cover and seal? do I have to get this "timed"? Should I leave it to a professional?

Also, the bolts on the plenum. Do they absoultely have to be torqued, or can I do my garage mechanic deal and just tighten it till it "feels right"? That's what I've always done and haven't had a problem yet, but also haven't messed with an engine block to this extent.

I'll be having three days down time to do all this, but I should have 3 full days, so minus 8 hours sleep a day x 3 = 24, i'll have about 40-48 hours (i'll eat while scratching my head, lol) to do this. Possible for a noobie?

Old 03-18-2008, 10:32 PM
kowboydmac
All Star
Default RE: Timing Chain Questions

Anybody

Old 03-18-2008, 10:51 PM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

f you have patience, and take your time, you can do it. if you have a warm and dry place to work, its a whole lot more enjoyable. read all the diy's, and study the pictures. get the fan and shroud off, and then climb over in there with it. label EVERYTHING. take pictures.