2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Newbie here w/ some questions..

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2009, 01:39 PM
99_ramsport
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here w/ some questions..

Hello all!! Newbie here w/ a 1999 ram sport 1500 5.9L 2wd. It has 111k on the dial. I just picked it up and have done some research on here(very helpful site) and just want to get your opinions on somethings...

A.) Previous owners says it burns oil but there is no smoke or oil leaks!! So i'm guesing its the plenum gasket.

B.) When i first start the truck it has a rough idle, if i let it sit and warm up the idle fixes itself. IAC or o2 sensor b4 the cat? Should i replace both which i plan on doing...

C.) He said he changed the plugs and wires/cap 3k miles ago but nothing else had been replaced(engine related). Anything i should look for?

D.) I have no CEL's....

My plans..

replace the plenum gasket(hughes kit)
pcv valve(purchased)
iac sensor(purchased)
180 thermostat
new bypass hose(purchased)
clean tb ( i tow a 6x12 trailer for lawncare should i upgrade to the 50mm or just stay stock?)
Oil & trans. new fluids
Coolant flush
NTK 23151 o2 sensor(purchased)

Last edited by 99_ramsport; 08-13-2009 at 03:53 PM.
Old 08-12-2009, 01:56 PM
97black_ram
Captain

Your on the right track for everything listed.

For towing stick with stock TB and get a trans. cooler if you dont already have one and turn off O/D

Otherwise what you posted is a good start and Welcome to DF.

Old 08-12-2009, 03:57 PM
dodgeram07
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

all sounds good,,,,,,,,,,,, but i would try cleaning the iac before buying a new one,, and if that does work then get a new one

it free to clean

and the tb goes... also free to try is you have the tools..it works out to be 50mm