2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

New to the forum, and possible transmission issue.

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2010, 01:54 PM
Jaredz28
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the forum, and possible transmission issue.

What's going on everybody! I'm new to the membership side of the forum but I've been here many times reading different posts and such on these fine automobiles called the second generation Ram. I'm running a 318 2wd automatic and she gets the job done. After doing some research, however, I am at a bit of a loss concerning a present concern I have with my transmission. It shifts relatively strongly through 1,2, and 3 but when I hit say, 45 or 50 depending on how much throttle is depressed while cruising, It wants to shift into overdrive and gives me a pretty good shake before it will shift down (usually all the way to second) if I don't intervene and give it a little extra gas. I've already done a throttle position sensor and that doesn't seem to be the problem. I fixed my wild vents and the seemed to help with it being lethargic when it's cold but hasn't fixed this issue. I don't want to commit to rebuilding it or picking up a beefy reman until I have to. What's the input fellas?

Also, has anyone had any luck adjusting the TV cable to fix this?

Old 12-12-2010, 05:04 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,271 Likes on 3,018 Posts

Welcome to DF.

You can try adjusting the TV cable, it may or may not help, but, if done properly, it certainly won't hurt.

Are you getting any trans codes?

Fourth gear, and TCC lockup are controlled by solenoids, via the PCM. Can you explain a little more about what it is doing, and under what conditions?

Old 12-12-2010, 08:27 PM
Jaredz28