2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Cab Clearance Lights install

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2017, 09:24 PM
CJSuhr
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cab Clearance Lights install

So im going to get straight and to the point with this write up. In no way though am I claiming I am a professional with this wiring or install, just try to do the best I can. . Enjoy.

So I got a 1994 Dodge Ram 1500. I've always liked the commercial or heavy duty rig look with the cab lights so I started looking Around. Found the recons and the pacers. Recons came in led and I've heard iffy reviews on them. Pacers came in led and incandescent, so I went with the pacer incandescent from Amazon, good price too. Very high quality.

https://www.amazon.com/Pacer-Perform.../dp/B00029X0HO

Needed stuff:
Philips and Flat screw driver
10 mm Socket and ratchet
Drill
Electrical tape
Crimper pliers(wire strippers)
14-16 guage crimp and seal connectors
7/8" or 1" hole saw
1/8 drill bit
Clear Silicone Sealant
Light kit
5 #8 1/2" sheet metal screws

Starting with tear down.
1: We need to remove the headliner, so start by removing the front pillars on left and right sides. They need to pull out towards the DOOR, NOT in towards the cab. They can break very easy. 2 clips holding the drivers in. I have the blue interior so my interior parts are hard to find, and my pasanger was not coming, so I left it in in fear of breaking it. Drivers pillar has to come off(for wiring).

2. Next remove the hanger behind the drivers seat. Gat a screw driver and pull the center clip out. Once the clip is pulled out all the way, pull on the clip and it should pull out of the roof/headliner.