3rd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 3rd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

going to look at a 3rd gen

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2011, 08:20 PM
shott8283
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default going to look at a 3rd gen

Hey guys!

Im sure none of you remember me, but I used to be VERY active on the board, primarily in the 2gen section

Ive owned my 2gen since 03 and its getting time to replace it.

Going to look at a 2003 2500 hemi 4door short bed. with 78K on the clock

what do I need to look at? im not familiar with the hemi's or the body style or suspension.

any help would be great!

Old 03-02-2011, 09:33 PM
fewmopar
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would look at this forum and check out the 2003 's and just look over the problems they have had and go from there

Old 03-02-2011, 10:28 PM
olyelr
Record Breaker

I cant tell you much to look out for as I am new to the 3rd gens as well. I could tell you pretty much everything about a 2nd gen though, as I just sold mine which I owned for 11 years.

I can tell you though that the suspension is pretty much identical to your 2nd gen. The half tons on the other hand have IFS, so be glad you got yourself a 3/4 ton!

Old 03-03-2011, 10:48 AM
weedahoe
Hall Of Fame
Hall of Fame Member
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts

While the 03 has low miles at 78k on it. Having the 5.7 in the 2500 is decent and do-able but not the way I would go in a 2500. Just think about it and make sure it is what you want.

Old 03-03-2011, 03:44 PM
SHNOOL
Rookie

Lets see, and I am shocked no one else chimed in...
Front wheel bearing assembly (listen for grinding)
Fan clutch (search this forum what to look for)
Idler pulley(s) melting on 5.7, visual inspection
Rust above the wheel wells on the bed inside (3rd gen 2500s dont' seem to be as well protected - maybe just me)