3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Air Box Mod

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2008, 10:02 AM
egbdodge
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Box Mod

Hello all.I am a newbie to this forum and I would like to say thanks for all the cool tips I have learned. I finally got a Dodge Ram 1500 with a Hemi! It's an 05 but man I love this truck! I put in a K&N drop in filter and it makes a difference. Not a huge gain but some. I might eventually try a different filter due to the controversy I had heard. I have been looking at cold air intakes and I just don't have the funding right now so I did a little stock box mod. I pulled off the air horn and I took about 3 feet of rigid aluminum dryer hose and I stuffed it in the square hole of the box and folded the ends a bit so it doesn't come out. I ran the hose down the fender about even with the foglight and strapped it to the fender support. I know this is a cheap trick but it does make a difference on take off and shifting through the gears (my truck is automatic). I was going to put the hose behind the headlight but there's not much of an air space. Eventually I would like to get a good CAI. Any suggestions? Thanks alot

Old 07-09-2008, 11:27 AM
bwhite757
All Star
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Air Box Mod