3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Airbag questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2011, 03:36 PM
Dave M
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airbag questions

I have a 2007 Hemi 1500 quadcab 4x4. I am new to towing and have been doing some research on weight ratings, hitches, the do's and don'ts ect, ect. Everything you read of course says don't overload or tow something to heavy for your tow vehicle. I tow a 28' enclosed car hauler about 6 times a year. We don't haul a car but different materials. The first time I towed a couple of weeks ago the trailer was loaded real heavy. The trailer empty is 4500lbs and we must have had about 3500lbs laoded in. I hooked up my truck it dropped the rear end about 5 inches with a weight distrubuting hitch hooked up. Over loaded in my opinion?

I have started looking into airbags. Is it safe to just fill these air bags and bring my truck back up to level? How would that affect the rest of the suspension, and by using these does it make it "safer" to tow a load that may be to heavy? Do they allow you to carry a heavier load or is it more of a cosmetic thing? I'm just not sure if getting airbags is the right thing to do.

Old 04-24-2011, 03:57 PM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

They are not cosmetic at all. Fully functional and it's MUCH safer to tow a load with your truck sitting level. Of course, no company will condone towing over capacity, but bags will allow you to.

I tow about 7700 lbs. of tractor, trailer and a rough cutter about 4-6 times a year from where I borrow it from to my small piece of farm property and have for years. I've done the helper spring thing on past trucks which work ok, but really beat the sh*t out of you when unloaded or not towing heavy weight.