Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Transmission Issues NEED HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2011, 01:07 PM
tjt2039
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission Issues NEED HELP!

First off, I'm a noob to the forum, so thanks for letting me join!

Second, I was wondering if anyone can help me pinpoint my problem, or at least give me a place to start looking... (I have a 1999 Grand Caravan 3.3l V6)

For the past couple of days, my van has been shifting while I am driving. It will downshift from whatever gear i'm in. If i'm in 3rd it goes to second, and so on. It has also recently started going from any gear i'm in, into reverse! When it down shifts it just raises the RPM, and then goes right back into the proper gear. When it shifts into reverse, it makes a loud slam noise, then goes right back into the proper gear.

It seems to be some type of electrical issue... It does not do this all the time, I would guess maybe twice within a 25 mile drive. And when it's not doing this, it shifts and drives just fine, has no problem going into and out of gear. Aside from feeling it shift, on the dash it shows it going into another gear. Not only that, but my speedometer, and tachometer drop to 0 every now and then, then jump right back up to the correct readings... Am I looking at a computer issue?? Could it be that the tranny is going bad, even though it shifts fine the majority of the time?? I'm really at a loss as to where I should start looking to identify the problem. I don't have the money to have a mechanic look at it for 5 hours, then still not have anything fixed so PLEASE HELP me start somewhere...

Thank you!

Old 05-03-2011, 01:09 PM
tjt2039