Dodge Neon The sport compact car that took the world by storm. the Dodge Neon. Depending on the trim level you get, this sporty ride has something to offer everyone.

WOT shift a neon??

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2005, 01:00 AM
morningpride
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WOT shift a neon??

Ok,

I am thinking about taking my little rocket to the local dragway and making my "maiden run"......

My question is, I know you can WOT shift an SRT, but what about a little neon?

Would it make a diffrence in your time???

I am new at the whole racing thing, so someone help me out.......

j

Old 05-03-2005, 02:51 AM
LowSlowNeon
Grand Champion
Default RE: WOT shift a neon??

Yeah it will make a difference in your time. The faster you shift gears the less time you waste not accelerating. Basically the idea is to keep the gas pegged to the floor and shift. I haven't quite perfected it yet...but I'm really quick at running through the gears.

Old 05-03-2005, 06:04 AM
RadarLove
Record Breaker

The synchros don't like meshing up that way (sorta like downshifting), and it's a heck of a shock to the tranny. Yes, it can certainly be done on "the little Neon"...

I get better times doing normal shifts, just fast. The RPM's don't drop very fast with the stock flywheel on there, so you stand a good chance of matching rpm's better. When doing WOT shifting (aka power shifting), the 1st to 2nd shift was a real bear, killed my 60 ft times, which hurt even more at the end. 2nd to 3rd wasn't as bad, but still sometimes hard to find. Losing a fraction of a second due to shifting technique might suck a little. Pulling a tranny bites.

The clutch disengages pretty early - mine is fully disengaged with maybe an inch of pedal travel. So I can start (gently) pulling out of gear while the clutch is on it's way in, have it in the next gear before it's halfway to the floor, then slide my foot off and let that sucker grab.