Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel

'05 Ram Steering suspension problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2005, 09:07 PM
carcrz
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '05 Ram Steering suspension problem

Whenever I hit a bump at any descent speed, my steering goes crazy. It did it to me for the second time on my way home today. It kind of feels like the wheels are about to come off the front. I don't see anything bent on it, but I'm not a mechanic either so I don't really know what I'm looking at. The truck's pretty much brand new so I doubt it's anything that I did, I was just curious if anyone has had a similar problem before.

Old 11-19-2005, 03:30 AM
Saint
Veteran
Default RE: '05 Ram Steering suspension problem

It's called Bump Steer, and it has to deal with the design of the Front Suspension. Since it's a Solid Front Axle Rig as the suspension cycles it causes the wheels to turn, and that's what you're feeling. A Steering Damper will help to solve the problem

Old 11-19-2005, 11:08 AM
carcrz
Rookie

Shouldn't that be something already on it? I would think that would be an extreme safety problem. When it happens, I have to pull over or slow way down just so it will stop.

Old 11-19-2005, 09:06 PM
Saint
Veteran

Not necessarily, and it really isn't a safety problem, because unless you're driving way too fast then it really shouldn't be an issue, I've driven a lot of Trucks with the same front suspension design, and while there is noticeable Bump Steer it's never to the point that I have to pull over.

Old 11-20-2005, 03:23 AM
carcrz
Rookie