Superchips Questions and Updates

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2010, 06:08 PM
rengnath
Champion
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Truckcustumizers is awesome! Ordered mine from there and was to my door in 2 days. The intake I just ordered took a couple days longer but there was a weekend in there. Good to deal with.

Old 05-27-2010, 07:39 PM
Hemi's Deer

Hey thank's a lot !!

Old 05-27-2010, 09:16 PM
Hemi's Deer

Thank' Captain

Old 05-27-2010, 10:56 PM
HammerZ71
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Originally Posted by Gasturbine
Im a newbie here, but I hold a degree in chemical engineering, and am very familiar with the chemical structure of gasoline. With that said, Im sure most of you know..."premium" fuel will not increase mileage/performance on an engine designed to run on "regular". Both fuels have the exact same energy, but premium has added hydro carbons (increasing the octane) to prevent detonation (pre-ignition or pinging) in high(er) compression engines. Premium fuel actually burns slower than regular.

With that said, I dont understand the benefit of running premium fuel without increasing compression...it doesnt matter how much you "tune" you give an engine, you are just wasting your money at the pump.

Anyway, just ordered my Superchips 3865...the dealer wanted $80 to set my tire size, and I found a 3865 for under $300, so figured Id make the investment.

-Chris

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7l Hemi Reg. Cab, Short Bed

Well I hold a degree in Shade Tree Machanicin' (un-accredited) for almost 30 years and I can tell you that even back in the day when we'd advance timing by just turning the distributor a bit, if you did so and not stepped up in octane, you'd knock and ping like hell, especially when towing.
But you go ahead and run that new SC on a performance tune with 87 octane fuel AGAINST the documentation of the manufacturer of said tuner.
Let us know how you make out...

Old 05-28-2010, 03:01 AM
Ric@rdo

ehehehehe